Pickles and Cheez-Its

Thanksgiving. A day for family. A day for food and conversation. A day for giving thanks. How did I spend my day?  Alone. Eating alone. Eating nothing but dill pickles and Cheez-It crackers. Alone. Alone with my thoughts. Alone with a box cutter. Curled up on the sofa, clutching the  blade; running it over my arms again and again. No one in my family thought to invite me to a meal. No one thought to even check to see if I was alive. Alone.

If they don’t care why should I?

 

One comment

  1. Hi. I googled cheese its and pickles to see if was the only crazy person out there and found this blog. I hope you’re ok. There’s a light inside you that will never go out, no matter how dark it gets, that light will always be there to guide you.

    Depression and the thoughts that come with it are company of mine, too.

What Say You?

