I’m Out?

I am not looking forward to work today at all. I’ve been off for four days so I haven’t been there since the Caitlyn Jenner Vanity Fair cover leaked. I am transgender, but I am not out at work. I never intentionally hid that I am transgender, I was accepted as a woman and I left it at that. I’m dreading work today because of some of the comments that people are making of Facebook. Some of my coworkers have posted insensitive but not downright offensive comments about Ms. Jenner. I’m worried that the topic may come up for discussion at work. Do I tell them it’s not an appropriate workplace conversation? Or do I pull out a pre-transition picture of me in a tuxedo with a flat-top haircut and a goatee from three years ago?

I don’t know how I am going to handle it if it comes up, and I am sick to my stomach thinking about it.

4 comments

What Say You?

