Back Into Therapy

I start seeing a new therapist today…

So much has happened in the year since I was last in therapy regularly… an overdose, a suicide attempt, a 12 day hospitalization, six months of homelessness, a move from California to New York, a diagnosis of schizophrenia, a new job, and a new home.

Mental health services are severely lacking in my area and I’m nervous about starting this new therapeutic relationship. I am so worried that this new therapist will lump being transgendered in with the mental illnesses that I suffer from. I so desperately need help but I don’t know if I have it in me to educate someone not versed in transcare.

What Say You?

