Background Noise

It started as a low murmur, background noise that was my constant companion. It’s been there for years, something I had always attributed to residual damage from the concerts of my youth. I had assumed that over thirty concerts, playing guitar in a few bands, and listening to loud music through headphones had lead to irreversible hearing damage. The murmur is starting to change, become less murky and beginning to sound more like voices. I can’t understand what they are saying, they are still in the background as if I am in a coffee shop or something. I know people are talking, but I don’t understand what they are saying. I find this deeply troubling, the sounds make me feel anxious and on edge.

What Say You?

